Busy lives, burn out & Shiatsu – Exeter, Devon

I’ve been prompted to write this particular blog today as I have personally had a busy, stress-inducing, multi-tasking frenzy of a day.

I questioned what my life was about as I drove to two supermarkets with my 2 year old in tow. Ideally I would stay away from Supermarkets but we are not in a position not to try & buy things at the lowest price we can. One of the supermarkets have the only healthy bars my eldest son will eat, the other the only one that has the washing powder we use.

I then tried to catch up with emails whilst cooking lunch for the two of us, also unpacking the shopping. My two year old couldn’t wait for food! At this point the postman arrives with a number of parcels (upcoming birthdays & no time to buy presents so online gits purchased.) I sign for the parcels whilst my son chooses this moment to need a poo, out comes the potty, off goes the cooking lunch, apologies to the postman.

Lunch eaten & rain pouring inside play it is. Reading stories & I have a telephone call about Shiatsu. Whilst talking to a possible client I am opening & emptying play dough pots to entertain my son whilst I chat. He is pulling at my leg & I give in, pick him up & head to the kitchen for a bribery snack.

It gets even more complicated once I pick up my eldest son up from school & don’t even imagine what it’s like once my husband is home. Suffice to say I have made it to this point in the day, a little weary & with a slight headache!

I am going to sign off from this blog, leave the washing up & toys on the floor & take an hour to rest, chill, relax & just be. I am writing this almost to force myself to do this as I know when I try to slow down & relax it will be harder than I think.

Lives for us seem to be non-stop. There are people which much busier & more stressful lives than me & there seems to be an expectation that we just keep going, relentlessly. Rest & quiet seem the least important thing & actually they are the most important. Without rest & deep stillness our bodies don’t recoup the energy we exert & then we risk burn-out & serious health issues.

Shiatsu massage is a great break, for an hour, away from the world. Supportive & nurturing touch, nothing to do but lie down & breathe.

There are also many ways to get some peace & stillness into daily life. 5 mins of meditating or breathing if that is all the time there is.  I have advised clients in the past to schedule in rest times when they are filling their diaries. Don’t fill up all your time & hope you have some left for yourself, book in the space first then the work around it.

So this is me signing off, I’m going to do some stretching exercises, some sitting Qigong & a little mediation. Maybe tomorrow will be a little less full-on……….

Leave a Reply

